Skip to content
February 18, 2017 / Mayou Art

Chisholm Trail

I understand that some of the world doesn’t agree, however, I think the Kansas landscape is gorgeous. Wide open fields, tall colorful grasses, and the sky is huge yet so close. Kansas not only is beautiful, some great people live there – people who know where they come from, people who don’t take themselves to seriously, people who know how to have fun. It makes me smile to paint Kansas landscapes for these reasons.

I have been wanting to take a stab at this painting since I saw the view at the Chisholm Trail Antique Gun Club on October. It was sunset and the wild prairie grass was gorgeous in the fading light.

I decided to try an acrylic underpainting, once that dried I applied gesso so the pastels could be applied. Even with the gesso it was different painting on top of an acrylic underpainting.

img_4588

acrylic underpainting

img_4589

Gesso over the acrylic underpainting – still wet

I couldn’t wait for the gesso to dry, the image was calling me! So I started on the sky and tree line while waiting for the bottom to dry. I like how the tree line and sky worked – took a picture in case the final image didn’t work – you just never really know!

 

img_4591

sky and tree line in progress while gesso continues to dry

 

img_4592

Chisholm Trail, Benton KS

The final image turned out very well and is compelling even from across the room!

Leave a Reply

