Skip to content
November 3, 2016 / Mayou Art

A dash of inspiration

“Painting is a means of self-enlightenment.” John Olsen

Painting has become an obsession, it is the first thing I think about when I wake up, I obsess all day about it. Ideas come so fast I can’t write them down or even process them before the next one comes, every photo I take is a painting I need to paint, not just a photo. And painting, art, style, color keeps me awake at night. The last week or so I have felt like I have reached a plateau that I can’t get past. That I have no artistic style or direction. I have turned to contemporary artists for inspiration and guidance.

When I stumbled upon this quote it spoke to me. Keep painting, work through the plateaus, self-enlightenment is not a destination but a journey and I will learn more today because I attempted a painting than if I didn’t – about color, shape, perspective, and now I’ve learned, myself.

 

 

screen-shot-2016-10-29-at-09-55-18

Giraffes at Mt Kenya by John Olsen at Olsen Gallery

Leave a Reply

