Skip to content
July 13, 2016 / Mayou Art

To Join Closely and Firmly

knit

verb
(used with object)
knitted or knit, knitting.
1. to make (a garment, fabric, etc.) by interlocking loops of one or more yarns either by hand with knitting needles or by machine.

2. 
to join closely and firmly, as members or parts (often followed by together):


My mother taught me to knit when I was 10. At the time it was not trendy, and you had to buy pattern brochures or books. There were basically two choices, sweaters or blankets. There also weren’t very many choices of yarn, worsted weight and baby weight.

Even though knitting is now trendy and there are so many patterns and yarn options I still have a thing for blankets! What they offer when completed is what keeps me coming back to them. Blankets offer warmth. They are a hug from a miles away; they join closely and firmly. Now Jack and Carl, don’t think I don’t love you – I actually made you blankets years ago – like 18 or 19, when we lived in Florida; unfortunately I was not smart enough to realize that someday you would appreciate them so when we moved to England I donated them. I have a few good years left before arthritis makes it difficult to knit and fully expect to correct the error I made years ago!

bedspread with pillow shams and decorative pillows

For Rose and Hussein’s first anniversary I made them a queen size bedspread. Off white, gorgeous cables, laced down the middle for easy cleaning (maybe), a true thing of beauty. But when she sent me pictures of it on her guest bed it was uninspiring and flat, so for their second anniversary ~ plus a few months I made s a few pieces to go with it.
Now she and her guests will feel warm and loved!
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. OffTheHookByChrissy / Jul 13 2016 5:29 pm

    Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

