Skip to content
June 17, 2016 / Mayou Art

Keeping it Simple

Saw a ‘how to’ draw trees pin on pintrest and had to take a look. The idea of the pin was to draw the simple shapes and refine them; decided that I should give it a try. Most of the time simple is best. It’s that way with closets, cooking, and now I know trees.

I started with the shapes of two trees and then I couldn’t stop. I was not standing outside looking at any trees or the lighting, but when I finished I realized it looks a bit like the edge of our meadow where the path enters the woods.

Exercise in tree drawing

Exercise in tree drawing

 

The Edge #1 9 x 12 pastel on Strathmore watercolor paper

The Edge #1
9 x 12 pastel on Strathmore watercolor paper

Sitting outside this evening, looking at all the trees in front of me, I tried to look at them as if I was going to draw the basic shapes. It still won’t be easy, but keeping it simple just might work.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jill Marsh / Jun 17 2016 4:51 pm

    I LOVE “the edge #1” – and I love “keeping it simple.” It’s that what we are striving for? Oh, BTW, I love you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mayou Art / Jun 17 2016 5:32 pm

      It is what we are striving for isn’t it! Love you too babe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

